Build Your Brand By Writing: Learnings from 100 Blog Posts

Tutti Taygerly
5 min readFeb 4, 2022
The author writing at a desk with laptop open and notebook to the side.
Photo by Toben Dilworth

This is my 100th blog post since I started writing about my career transition from a design leader to running my own business as a leadership coach, speaker, teacher, and writer. Writing weekly started with helping me process my own journey and my learnings in this transition. It’s become a pathway to a new identity, as a writer. It’s helped me hone my ideas and publish my first book. And most of all, it’s a way of developing my unique perspective and point of view on the world, AND getting feedback on it from readers.

From writing 100 blog posts, I’m sharing two of my biggest process learnings and four tips for what types of content has worked for me.

1. (Process) Writing is a muscle; You get better with practice

I’ve been writing regularly for 2.5 years, mostly publishing a blog post every week. For the first 6 months, here’s what worked really well for me to establish this rhythm:

  • Topic. Each week I’d write about what I learned the most that week or a challenge I was grappling. Sometimes it was a problem that multiple clients were facing.
  • Accountability. I posted on some leadership slack groups asking for an accountability partner who also wanted to write. When I found one, we would exchange our…

--

--

Tutti Taygerly

Leadership coach & champion of difficult people; designer of human experiences; ex-Facebook; surfer, traveller, mom; tuttitaygerly.com