2021 Year in Books

Tutti Taygerly
4 min readJan 1, 2022
Row 1 of books: The Midnight Library, Circe, Know My Name, Mother Daughter Me, Row 2 of books: Humor Seriously, The Memo, Unwinding Anxiety, Untangled

This was a slower reading year for me. 55 books broken down by fiction (31), nonfiction leadership & parenting (12) and memoirs (11). Some interesting patterns that I saw from this year:

  • I was over leadership books after overdosing on them in 2020. Instead, I followed my own pain-points and struggles for the 12 that I consumed. Since I spent a lot of the year writing a leadership book, I also didn’t feel like both consuming & creating in the same genre.
  • Fiction is a lovely escape for me. Many of these were children’s series recommended by my 10 year old. Plus a fantasy interlude through the Bridgerton series.
  • I’m obsessed with memoirs. For a long time, I thought my second book would be memoir. While I’ve since reconsidered that, I’ll continue to be obsessed with memoirs over the coming years while my own continues to marinate.

These 8 are the most memorable books of the year for me. I hope that you’ll also enjoy them.

Fiction

The Midnight Library is a book that I wish I’d written and has all my favorite elements—mysticism, a troubled heroine faced with infinite choice, and a magical library that lets you dip in…

--

--

Tutti Taygerly

Leadership coach & champion of difficult people; designer of human experiences; ex-Facebook; surfer, traveller, mom; tuttitaygerly.com